The news is by your side.

The Many Phases of Sleep Explained


Everyone knows that sleep is important to your physical, emotional, and mental well-being, but statistics show that most Americans aren’t getting the required seven to eight hours of sleep. Your average adult needs to be functional and well-rested in the mornings.

The dangers of not getting enough sleep have been well documented. There are five stages of sleep to speak of, though some experts say there are only four, with stage four and REM sleep being the same thing. The five stages are stage one, stage two, stage three, and stage four (REM) sleep.

Knowing what the stages of sleep are can help you prepare to get the good night’s sleep you need to get through the busy day ahead. How to fall sleep fast? Visit the website for The Basics Explained

In this article, you’ll find a little about each of the stages to help you determine what habits you need to change to ensure you’re getting a good night’s sleep.

Stage One

The first stage of sleep is the initial light stage of sleep when you first lie down and find yourself drifting into the land of slumber. This is the stage where you start to nod off and the stage where you can be woken easily from your slumber. Stage one of sleep is the stage that pulls you into the deeper stages where you get the most rest.

If you’re having a hard time even staying asleep in this stage, it’s best if you try some remedies to help you get through stage one and into stage two. For example, CBD for restful sleep has been known to help American’s suffering from insomnia or just needing to get a good night’s sleep to rest easy. This CBD product is a natural way to fall asleep and stay asleep. However, as with any product you’ve never taken before, you should make an appointment with your primary health care provider before taking any CBD product. Your doctor can tell you if the CBD product will interfere with any medications you’ve taken and if it’s indeed the best choice of product to help you get the sleep you deserve.

Stage Two

The second stage is known as the stage where sleep actually begins. This is where your body becomes completely relaxed, your muscles relax, and your breathing slows. Your body temperature also drops during this stage, but not to a dangerous level. This is also a light stage of sleep. There are many health benefits to reaching this stage of sleep as well. This sleep phase is still so light and dreamless that you could be woken easily and still be coherent.

Stage Three

Stage three is where your body goes into delta sleep. This stage is where you’re completely asleep, and your brain activity is slow. It usually takes about 45 minutes to reach this stage of sleep, where your muscles are completely relaxed, and you’re sleeping well. This is where your HGH production is the highest: your body needs to produce to repair tissues and help you remain youthful. If you’re having problems reaching this stage of sleep, there are home remedies you can try that may help.

Stage Four

Stage four, also known to many as REM sleep, is the stage where you’re deeply asleep, and dreams begin. Your dreams are most vivid during this stage, and you’re not easily woken.

These are the stages of sleep that you need to go through to be mentally alert and physically capable of meeting each new day. If you’re not getting the right amount of sleep and it continues for a period of time, it’s best to talk to your doctor to determine the cause and what treatment will help you the most. If you’re curious to know more about how you can help with right amount of sleep, go to the website

Learn more about human body, mental health and other related topics, on this website:

Leave A Reply